• Michelle

Where in the world is the kitten?

A few weeks ago, my husband decided he wanted to foster a couple of baby kittens. They were the cutest little kittens, but being that we all ready had a bunch of critters in the house, I was a little hesitant to take on more. Unfortunately, I’m not too good at telling him no, so that very same day he comes home with a carrier and 2 baby kittens.

It wasn’t just a few hours later, with my mother-in-law over for dinner, that we found one of the kittens in the boys playroom. John, our energetic 3 year old monster, had brought the little dear in and decided to show her his drum. His drum has a removeable lid to allow storage for the other musical instruments that came with the drum. In order to show the kitten his drum, he removed the lid and placed the kitten inside the drum, then replaced the lid. He then proceeded to drum. After saving the poor kitten and making sure she was ok, we cracked up laughing!

About a week later, we had gotten home from a trip up north. James and I were relaxing in our bedroom, when I heard John start laughing. Ok, so he’s laughing. He’s easily amused… I didn’t think much of it. Then I heard the sound of the trash can lid being twirled around and a kitten crying. Of course, I ran out of the room to investigate and found John standing next to the garbage can. (actually, it was the recycle can and it had just been emptied!) He had thrown the kitten away!! I, again, saved the kitten from certain death. I picked up John and brought him into our bedroom and tried the best I could to explain that he could not throw the kitten away. About the time I said “throw the kitten away” I started cracking up laughing. Seriously!!! How am I suppose to scold this kid while I’m laughing!?!

Later that evening, after we had put the boys to bed, my father-in-law was in the kitchen making the next day’s coffee. He opened the fridge and was surprised to find a kitten on the shelf with the butter. *SIGH* Really, I don’t know what to do with this kid.

Leave a Reply

