• Michelle

When will I ever learn?

The best conversations happen at the dinner table.

Last night, I prepared a lovely meal of leftover tuna noodle casserole with peas and a side salad. *Side note, because that’s how my brain works, all the salad dressing was expired but we ate it anyway. Ewww, who does that?*

We always pray before we eat the dinner meal, and our one rule is that if someone eats before the food is blessed, then that person has to pray. Last night, dad placed a big ‘ol forkful of casserole his mouth and we all said “oooooohhhh, daddy has to pray!” His excuse was that since this is leftovers, the food had all ready been blessed. So, of course, like I usually do – I badgered him until he put his fork down and prayed. His prayer, while very appropriate in wording, had a bit of a tone to it. When he finished, I told him – “dear, I don’t think Jesus likes your tone.”

Gary replied – “Mom, their’s no wrong way to pray. Jesus hears them all.”

How. Does. He. DO. THAT?!

At least I know he’s paying attention in church!

*******************

In other news – we’re looking forward to a fun 3 day weekend. Mine started at 12:30 this afternoon since my department rocks! They let us all leave 2 hours early.

The kids are going to spend the night at my mom’s house tonight, so if you could say a prayer for her, she’ll be needing it! Not only will she have my 2 boys, but my sister, her boyfriend and their 3 kids, ages 7, 5, and 3 live with her for the time being. I was also just informed that there will be 3 other kids hanging out until their dad picks them up. No, my mom does not run a daycare center, but I’m pretty sure she’d be a millionaire by now if she did. In exchange for a peaceful night without boys, I’ll be forced blessed to keep my sisters 2 boys on Saturday night.

Tonight, James and I will be spending time with some new friends of ours. Then tomorrow James and his dad will be spending the ENTIRE day taking their CCW class. (that’s the concealed carry weapon for those that don’t know) I’ll get the morning to myself until I pick up the little urchlings darlings. Maybe I’ll get some sewing in or some housecleaning. Scratch the housecleaning. I’ll stick to sewing!

*******************

I believe this is the first time I’ve ever heard my kid say this. (This just happened by the way). John started crying and and came over to me. From the living room, Gary told me, “Whatever he says, he’s LYING”. At least he makes it easy for me to know who to punish!

What are you up to this weekend?

Photobucket

One Response

  1. I've used lots of expired things including salad dressing. (as long as it's not too expired that is)

Leave a Reply

