• Michelle

Dear Addictions

Dear Computer,

             You were suppose to be my friend, my resource, my guide, but you’ve turned into something so much more. With you I can edit my pictures, catch up with friends, show off my family, allow people a look into our lives, gain insight on issues I never thought of, inspire my creativity, and so much more. With you I’ve learned how to bake, sew, photograph and edit pictures, digitally scrapbook. You are a source of great information both useful and destructive. You deliver messages to me from my friends, and responses to things I’ve posted. You deliver opportunities from different companies to try new products. There is so much to do and so very little time to do it all. I’ve found myself spending hours upon hours staring at all your pretty pixels, in awe of everything you behold. It is for that reason and with a heavy heart, that I must say goodbye, with the exception of the hours I spend at my desk at work.

Dear Self,

              As if you didn’t have enough insecurities as it is, you had to add yet another one. A complete and utter failure as wife and mother. You sit on your computer all day at work, then come home and do the same. What are your kids doing while you sit on the computer blogging, facebooking, photoshopping, or whatever else you do? What kind of example are you setting for them? Can they see Jesus in you while you waste your time away, doing what? Is your time on the computer worth the time you missed with your kids, your husband, your friends? And how ‘bout that husband of yours? He’s pretty terrific, isn’t he? I’m sure you wouldn’t know because you haven’t paid attention to him in weeks. Your mind is too focused on who’s replied to your latest post. It is time you said goodbye. You are destroying the life that God intended with your addiction. It is time for you to go. In the words of Mercy Me:

Well if I come across a little bit distant
It’s just because I am
Things just seem to feel a little bit different
You understand
Believe it or not but life is not apparently
About me anyways
But I have met the One who really is worthy
 So let me say

So long, self
Well, it’s been fun, but I have found somebody else
So long, self
There’s just no room for two
So you are gonna have to move
So long, self
Don’t take this wrong but you are wrong for me, farewell
Oh well, goodbye, don’t cry
So long, self

Stop right there because I know what you’re thinking
But no we can’t be friends
And even though I know your heart is breaking
This has to end
And come to think of it the blame for all of this
Simply falls on me
For wanting something more in life than all of this
Can’t you see

So, you see Self – you are wrong for me so we can’t hang out anymore. Not to worry though, Jesus will take your place. He loves me more then you do anyway. Jesus will make sure that this life shines for Him.

Dear Diet Dr. Pepper

            Since we are on the topic of addictions and ridding myself of them, I thought I would reassure you of your status. Since you don’t cause too much trouble or take time away from my family, you may stay.

What this tirade means for my ‘fives of readers’. I have come to the conclusion that my family is being neglected by me while I’m at home. For the next little while, unless it’s absolutely unavoidable (like when I’m making a grocery list) I will not be using the computer at home. That means, no facebook, no photoshop, no personal email. I will return when Satan no longer has a hold over this addiction. Since I must use the computer for work, I can’t give it up completely. Besides, the problem is the use of it at home. I will be able to update this blog periodically, as long as work is slow at time permits. I will also be able to keep up on your blogs while I’m at work and as long as work is slow.

To the family that I’ve neglected – I’m sorry. Boys, I’m sorry I told you I was too busy to read you a bedtime story last night because I was working on something on the computer. James, I’m sorry for not being the woman you married the last couple of weeks. Please forgive me.

 
Photobucket

Leave a Reply

