• Michelle

Monday is totally random. Like when you pick a name out of a hat… or something.

Everybody put your fine china away, bubble wrap your knick-knacks, and carefully hide all thinks breakable. The princess of Randomville has entered the room. I say princess, because Mrs. Nurse Boy started this whole random-mess, so she is the queen!

Let the randomonium commence…

***I wonder how many times I can use the word ‘random’ in a post.

***Startling little boys is the most fun thing ever.

***Rented convertible + top down + little boys in the back seat, putting their hands in the air pretending they’re on a rollercoaster is precious.

***While at our softball game Friday night, I actually hit the ball. It always surprises me when I hit the ball. Of course, being fat and slow, I was out before ever hitting first base. When I sat back down on the bleachers, John came over to me and asked what happened. I told him they got me out. He patted me on the back and said, “That’s ok mommy, you tried.” He spent the next 2-3 minutes comforting me.

***YAY for daylight savings time!! With the time change, most people are coming in an hour later, and I got a prime parking space in the first row! AZ doesn’t change their time, we just change our time zone.

***I was listening to the weather report late one night last week. The weather man said we would have Fall between 2 and 5pm the next day. Then it would be winter. How true that was.

**People who aren’t Native Arizonan’s don’t understand why native’s are freezing right now. 55° is cold people. That’s heavy jacket, sweater, scarf, hat, and gloves weather.

*I would not survive in the snow.

***I found a new shopping partner! I am as random in real life as I am in the blogging world. And this includes the way I shop for clothes. Well, apparently, so is my friend Molly. No one wants to shop with either of us because we are so indecisive, we hem, we haw, we try a million things on and put most of it back. Then we try on hats and laugh. Then wonder the store, checking out the cameras in electronics, find books the kids would like, and generally just have fun. Most people don’t like this kind of shopping. But it’s perfect for the 2 of us!

***Gary’s parent/teacher conference scared me this past week. Apparently, he’s been writing some very dark stuff lately. Like, the teacher’s were worried he was going to harm himself and they were going to report the writings to the principal. This worried me too, until my husband googled the words and discovered one of the papers were lyrics to a Jonas Brother’s song. Why would a band, who plays on the Disney Channel, be singing songs like this:

Tried to turn on the TV to get you out of my head
Tell me Why? Why? Why?

Does it hurt so bad
Tell me Why? Why? Why?
Does it make me mad

These are the lyrics Gary had written verbatim. Of course, a teacher who had never heard this song before would be worried. I was worried too until I figured out this was a song. I think I’m going to boycott the Disney Channel until they can clean up their act.

**The best part, however, was when Gary read Ephesians 4:23-30 on Sunday morning.

23 Instead, let the Spirit renew your thoughts and attitudes. 24 Put on your new nature, created to be like God—truly righteous and holy.

25 So stop telling lies. Let us tell our neighbors the truth, for we are all parts of the same body. 26 And “don’t sin by letting anger control you.”[d] Don’t let the sun go down while you are still angry, 27 for anger gives a foothold to the devil.

28 If you are a thief, quit stealing. Instead, use your hands for good hard work, and then give generously to others in need. 29 Don’t use foul or abusive language. Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them.

30 And do not bring sorrow to God’s Holy Spirit by the way you live. Remember, he has identified you as his own,[e] guaranteeing that you will be saved on the day of redemption.

He said anytime he starts thinking violent thoughts, he would remember this scripture and let God renew his thoughts. I was so proud and so scared in the same moment. Why is my baby thinking violent thoughts? At the same time, realizing he’s so grown up that he’s aware they aren’t good and letting God take hold of him. I was very near tears on the way to Church.

***Remember – we are not of the law, but were saved by Grace through Jesus Christ. We did not earn it, nor do we deserve it. Remember that today when you just don’t feel like extending the same grace and forgiveness when someone hurts you.

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

