• Michelle

All things Christmas – in a random sort of way

I stare at the glowing green numbers on my alarm clock. It’s 4:06am. As I reach over and turn off the alarm buzzing in my ear, I continue to stare at the numbers until everything surrounding it turns black and all I can see are green numbers. As consciousness replaces the grogginess of sleep from my mind, I’m reminded that today is Christmas Eve.

I roll over on my back and look towards the ceiling of my bedroom and imagine Jesus there watching over me. I smile and once again, thank him for his wonderful Gift. As with previous days leading up to now, I play a game in my mind. One I’ve been playing with Gary on our way to and from the babysitters. I try to imagine what Mary and Joseph were doing right now 2009 years ago.

Joseph went from the town of Nazareth in Galilee to Judea, to Bethlehem the town of David, because he belonged to the house and line of David. He went there to register with Mary, who was pledged to be married to him and was expecting a child.

It is 80 miles from Nazareth to Bethlehem and Joseph didn’t own a car. By donkey, the trip could have taken 8-10 days. I imagine Mary riding on a donkey, 9 months pregnant with our Savior, and by now – on Christmas Eve, she’s probably exhausted and in pain. Looking for a place to stay, Joseph and Mary were turned away because all the inns were full.

At this time on Christmas Eve 2009 years ago, I imagine Mary and Joseph were just pulling into Bethlehem and starting their journey to find a place to rest.

***

On a completely random, but still Christmas side note – as promised, the cookies I made this week.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Thank you to Amanda for the icing recipe and Bridget for the cookie recipe and both of you on the decorating idea’s!

***

Additional side note and un Christmas related, but baking related (you like how I tie everything together?) – check out what I did to my baking supply shelf.

Before

Photobucket

Photobucket

After

Photobucket

Photobucket

Dear Friends,

I pray this Christmas will bring more then tangible gifts, but that you’ll remember the gift from God that he gave us on this day. I pray for your health and happiness as you travel and spend time with loved ones. May God bless you today and always.

In Jesus Name
Amen

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

