• Michelle

Today is Monday, right?

My eye’s open, reluctantly. I look at the glowing green lights of my alarm clock and realize why they were so reluctant to open. It’s 1:33am. Sweet! Still 2 1/2 hours before the alarm goes off. I listen for the sounds of little feet, but all is silent. The cat has stolen my side of the bed. I mumble something at the cat and I drift back to sleep.

Again, my eye’s open. Even more reluctantly then the first time. The glowing green lights tell me is 2:30-something. Only 1 1/2 hours before the alarm goes off. Again, I listen for the sounds of little feet but all is still silent. I better get that last hour in. The cat remains in her spot. I gently coax the cat of my side of the bed and reposition. I close my eyes and go back to sleep.

3:45, I find myself looking at those glowing green lights again. The cat is nowhere to be found. My coaxing may have been a bit harsher then I first admitted. Still no pitter patter of little feet, but I now only have 15 minutes left before my alarm goes off. I close my eyes.

HOLY CRAP! WHAT IS THAT AWEFUL SOUND? I’m startled by the atrocious buzzing sounds coming from across the room, and even louder buzzing from James side of the bed and the shaking. It was the SHAKING that startled me into consiousness. That’s right, it was my husband’s horrible Atomic Bomb alarm clock. Which means, it is now 5:10am. No time to think – brush teeth, pee, get dressed, contacts… no. No time for contacts – wearing glasses today. Did I take my meds? Crap, I can’t remember if I took my meds. This is gonna be a long day if I didn’t take my meds. What would be the harm if I doubled up by accident? Would I be totally insane? Better take one, just in case. Better to be over insane then under medicated, right? RIGHT?! Oh no! The boys… What do they need? Oh, right. Socks, jackets. Thank GOD I put them in their jammies and packed their clothes last night. I guess I need socks too… and a jacket. Ok, check me out in the mirror before I go and… uhhh, what is UP with my hair? Are you kidding me? I forgot to brush my hair. I DON’T HAVE TIME FOR THIS! Run a brush through it… ok, that’ll have to do. Makeup – Not.gonna.happen. Kids are in the car – forgot to warm it up. Thanking God I live in AZ where it doesn’t snow. Kids are at the sitter. They do have clothes for the day and shoes! We did forget John’s bear blankie, but all in all, I think we’re all right. Call my boss on the way to let her know I’m going to be late. Get to work 15 min. late.

And this is how my day started.

Since then I’ve had to re-home our one remaining chicken. I don’t think I blogged about them since we got them, but one our chickens died this weekend. One of the neighborhood cats got wind of the chickens and attacked one of them. We found her dead in her pen Saturday morning. Last night, we found the cat in the pen with the other chicken. We scared off the cat and put the chicken in the garage for the night. I called a friend who I knew all ready had chickens and asked if she would like our chicken. Today, we took her over to our friends house. I think she’ll be much happeir their in a proper chicken coop with other chickens.

Now, I’m sitting here at the computer blogging, eating Iced Oatmeal cookies and drinking Diet Dr. Pepper and refusing to share any of it with John. I know. I’m selfish. He’ll survive. I’m not even going to tell you how many of those Iced Oatmeal cookies I’ve had today because I really don’t want to admit I have a problem with moderation. There is a reason I don’t buy those cookies very often. I should have remembered that when I was at the grocery store yesterday. I think that’s one of the symptoms of A.D.D. – you know, memory loss. But I can’t be totally sure because I forgot.

And this is what happens when you allow an A.D.D. mom who may or may not have over medicated, with no sleep author a blog. There should be bans on things like this. But then, what would the fun in that be?

Oh well. I suppose some days are like that. Even in Austrelia.

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

