• Michelle

When desperation meets creative genius

I was sitting down, watching the new episode of NCIS last night when the craving for something sweet hit me. Since I am prone to laziness, I waited an additional 10 minutes before I got up to survey the contents of our pantry. What I found was a whole lotta nothin’. Well, except for bits and pieces of stuff I could use to bake with, but nothing I could just grab and go. What I really wanted was a chocolate caramel brownie, and while I had all the ingredients in the house to make the scrumptious dessert, it would have defeated the whole laziness thing.
So I searched, and searched, and moved items around. Glancing towards the back were unopened boxes of microwave popcorn. “Nah” I though, “I need something sweet, not salty.” Continuing my search, I finally located a half eaten bag of caramels; you know, the caramels I bought to go with the brownies. *Sigh* I grabbed the bag and rooted around a little more to see if I had missed anything else, and there, in a remote corner of the snack shelf was a sealed package of Baker’s dipping chocolate. Jack pot; but what to dip? This is where desperation meets creative genius. Remembering the put aside thought of microwave popcorn, I grabbed my ingredients and went to work.

Ingredients:
8-10 squares individual wrapped caramels
1 bowl Bakers dipping chocolate
1 bag Orville Redenbacher’s Tender White microwave popcorn

Unwrap the caramels and place them in a small sauce pan. Melt the caramels on a low setting so as not to burn them.

Photobucket

Microwave the popcorn according to the instructions. (The popcorn bag is really greasy, so I placed the bag on a dish towel.)

Photobucket

Microwave the dipping chocolate according to the instructions.

Photobucket

Grab a bowl. Pour 1 layer of popcorn on the bottom of the bowl. Get a spoonful of the dipping chocolate and lightly pour (or in my case shake; this is how I got the drizzle look) over the popcorn.

Photobucket

Once the caramel is completely melted, drizzle that on top of the popcorn and chocolate.

Repeat these steps until you’ve either run out of popcorn/caramel/chocolate or filled your bowl. In my case, I filled the bowl and had plenty of leftovers. So I dipped pretzel sticks into the caramel and chocolate and shared the rest of the popcorn with sticky little boys.

Photobucket

* James said there wasn’t enough insulin in the house for him to be able to eat my popcorn.

This snack is totally gross and I do not recommend eating it. I will lovingly sacrifice my own taste buds to save you from ever having to put this vile thing in your mouth; and if you ever decide to make this snack, I again do not recommend eating it. Just send it my way and I will dispose of it properly.

Your welcome.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

