• Michelle

Truth VS Lies

Wednesday night bible study – oh how I’ve missed you so. Until last night, we haven’t met since before Christmas; and really, that’s just too long. Yes, I realize I had the opportunity to meet you last week and I have a slew of excuses for you as to why I couldn’t make it but none of them are very good. So let’s just skip the part where I missed last week and celebrate my return to Wednesday night bible study.

I’ll be honest, last night’s study was hard on me. I was convicted and I hate that because I rarely follow up on my convictions; but I think this one is different. Different because this conviction came with a realization that I need to change some things. Not that I’m doing anything bad, just that I’m not living what I believe. Or maybe I’m not really believing what I live. Either way, I need to start believing what God says and my life need to show the reflection of God’s truths. And I’ve figured out the secret to getting there. Wanna know what it is? Come here and I’ll tell you.

It’s the bible!

Wait, let me say that again.

It’s the Bible!

There, now I know you heard me! Now I’ll wait for your ears to stop ringing before I continue.

Are you better now? So what’s all this got to do with Truth VS Lies? Our Wednesday night bible study is doing The Truth Project by Focus on the Family.                                  {hi Lori}

See to it that no one takes you captive through hollow and deceptive philosophy, which depends on human tradition and the basic principles of this world rather than on Christ.

Colossians 2:8

The world is full of lies, both subtle and obvious. The world tells us in so many different ways that there is no God and everything that exists can fit inside this nice sized box. Even spirituality fits in this boxed worldview.

I got to thinking about this scripture verse and how our human tradition and the basic principles of this world deceive us. In class they talked about the difference between morals and ethics.

Morality: The rightness or wrongness of conduct; that which is. Habits of life or the practices of an individual or culture.

Ethics: The standard, the line, that which ought to be. The principles of conduct governing a person or group of people.

I copied these definitions directly from The Truth Projects website and take no credit for them. I don’t think I could have come up with a better definition anyway!

The morals of this world are deceiving. Take abortion for example. People in this world try to tell us that abortion is ok and with the increasing popularity of abortion, other’s are coming to accept this as the norm. The morals of this world are saying this is how it is, but ethically, should it be this way? These are the lies the world keeps telling us.

Does God exist? We only have to look around us to know that He does. Creation itself is proof that God exists and then he gave us a book! He gave us His own word so that we can know Him. God didn’t create the 10 commandments so that he could observe us from afar and see if we follow them. He created them because they are an extension of who He is. He tells us not to lie because He himself does not lie.

What I really took from last night’s study was this:

Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

Romans 12:2

For so long I’ve been asking God to change my heart. My heart is sarcastic and hurtful a lot of the time and it’s not something I’m proud of. It’s just who I am. I’ve gotten to a point of acceptance with that (there’s the morals) but I know deep down it’s not right (the ethics). So I’ve been asking God to change my heart. What hit me last night is that I can’t change my heart, but I can change my mind. I can renew my mind to be more Christ like, but that kind of renewal requires knowledge. Who is Christ? I can only know that by reading my bible. Something I have not been very good about. Then take it one step further and believe what I’m reading is true. Then God can work on my heart.

Photobucket      

Leave a Reply

