• Michelle

Not Me! Monday – The evolution of John

Ever since John has been going to this babysitter Nana, at 11 months old, we’ve had a routine. I lay him Nana’s arms, I kiss him on the cheek/forehead/temple and we converse. Our conversation has evolved over the years but the gist of it is pretty consistent.

At 11 months

Me: I love you, John

John: …

Me: Have a good day

John: …

Me: Be a good boy

John: …

At 18 months, when he was conscious it sounded more like this:

Me: I love you, John

John: Blub Bloo

Me: Have a good day.

John: K

Me: Be a good boy.

John: K

Around 2 years old, he started forming real words.

Me: I love you, John

John: Love you

Me: Have a good day.

John: K

Me: Be a good boy.

John: K

The love you broke my heart a little because it meant he’s growing up and getting smarter. He’s one day
closer to not being my baby boy.

At 3 years old, he started to converse back a little more.

Me: I love you, John.

John: Love you too.

Me: Have a good day.

John: Have a good day.

Me: Be a good boy.

John: Be a good boy.

This conversation went on almost every morning for nearly a year. It was so cute and just another example of how John was still my little boy and had a lot to learn. I love it when he’s dependant on me for his (almost) every need.

So this morning, when I dropped John off with Nana and laid him in her arms, it was not me who was, once again, heart broken over my sweet boys choice of words. I do not dread the day my boys don’t need me anymore and step out on their own, and I do not see this conversation as one step closer to that day.

Me: I love you, John.

John: Love you too.

Me: Have a good day.

John: Have a good day.

Me: Be a good boy.

John: Be a good girl. *Wicked smile*

{hold me}

This post is linked up with MckMama and Not Me! Monday.

Photobucket 

Leave a Reply

