• Michelle

The ugly side

After writing this, I am so reluctant to post it. It’s an ugly side that I hate to show, but it’s a problem that is real in our lives right now. I’m going to go ahead and post it, but please be gentle with me. I’m fragile. 😦

This kid

I love him. I love him. I love him. I love him. I love him.

And sometimes

it’s the only thing keeping me from… well…

This one better describes how I feel right now.

Because I just got a call from the assistant principal. Apparently, during morning recess, he and another little boy were chasing a boy around the playground. They threw the boy into the rock climbing structure and pinned him there, asking him “Do you give up?” The poor kid being chased was scared, and rightfully so.

I just don’t know what to do. I want to cry, because I know what it’s like to be bullied. I don’t know how to handle having a kid who is the bully. I’ve told him my story, several times. He knows most of the gruesome details of what it was like for me in school, and yet, they haven’t had any effect on him.

On top of that, he had a recital this morning that I took time off work to attend. Afterwards, a boy about his age approached me and asked if Gary was in some sort of skate club. I told him no. A few minutes after that, the boy and a group of other boys approached me and asked if Gary had ever shot a 20 year old. With Gary standing right next to me, I told the boys no, that he never shot anyone. The group of boys, about 7 or 8 in all, looked at Gary and said “You told us that was real!”

I just don’t know what to do anymore… events from this past week have led us to a decision to medicate him for the ADHD. The psychiatrist he saw has also diagnised him with ODD (Oppositional Defiance Disorder). We’re going to start him on the meds this weekend. While I know the medication will help him to concentrate and stay on task, I just don’t know what help they will give to these other issues. I’m just scared of how he’s going to turn out.

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

